Log in
The Race for Seat #3

Breaking News: Becker will face Johnson in the Apopka City Commission Special Election

Qualifying ends with only two candidates


At noon today, qualifying closed for the Apopka City Commission Seat #3 special election, with only two candidates emerging. Apopka City Clerk Susan Bone confirmed that former Commissioner Kyle Becker will face off against first-time candidate Lynetta Johnson.

Becker began his Apopka political career in 2016 with a surprising victory over longtime incumbent Commissioner Bill Arrowsmith, beating him in a runoff with 55% of the vote. In 2020, he was re-elected with 62% of the vote over Lorena Potter. In 2022, Becker vacated Seat #4 on the Apopka City Commission to run against Apopka Mayor Bryan Nelson but fell short by just 495 votes.

"I’m excited to say I’m officially qualified to run for Seat 3," Becker said in a statement earlier this week. "I will use the same fact-based approach to setting policy and hearing the business of our city that I used for the last six years in my service as Commissioner of Seat 4.  I’m committed to serve the people of Apopka as a responsive representative, and prioritize the things that will promote a sustainable and desirable Apopka for decades to come for all of our residents."

Johnson is a first-time candidate for office and the Director of Operations for Prime Electrical Services. She served in the US Air Force from 1990-2000. In 2012, she was the Senior Contract Administrator for Moog Inc., where she managed the revolutionary aircraft, Boeing 787 Dreamliner.

Johnson said she is running for Seat #3 to support both new and current businesses in Apopka.

"I am running for City Commissioner, Seat #3 because I live here in Apopka. I am a homeowner, parent, and grandparent," she said. "I want to keep this town an amazing place to raise a family and I want current businesses to thrive, in addition to welcoming new businesses that will contribute to the City of Apopka and our citizens. I would like to see ONE Apopka, in addition to strategically target the tech industries and business sectors to flourish in Apopka and to create new job opportunities."

Doug Bankson, the current Seat #3 commissioner, announced his intention to run in the Florida House District 39 election and therefore has to vacate his seat on the Apopka City Commission. He announced his resignation but will remain on the Apopka City Council through November 8th.

Two candidates from the March 2022 elections applied to run for Seat #3, but declined to qualify this week - Eric Mock and Wes Dumey.

Mock confirmed he would not run for office earlier in the month. Dumey released the following statement today:

“It is with a heavy heart I am announcing my decision to not qualify for Seat 3 today.  The recently changed timing of the election means this race could drag on almost five months and continue to further divide the city. I look forward to the day when we have new vision and leadership in key positions but that will have to wait for now.  I will actively stay engaged and working to build a better city.”   

The general election for Seat #3 is on August 23rd in accordance with statewide primary elections. If there is a runoff, it will be on November 8th, the same day as the statewide general election.

Early voting for the August 23rd election is from August 8th-21st at the VFW/Apopka Community Center. If there is a November 8th runoff election, early voting will be from October 24th-November 6th, also at the VFW/Apopka Community Center. 

You must be registered with the Orange County Supervisor of Elections by July 25th in order to vote in the special election.

Apopka City Commission, The Race for Seat #3, Apopka City Commission Seat #3, Kyle Becker, Lynetta Johnson


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here